Royal Flush

royal-flush-spade-poker-card.jpg

Do what you love to do.

Whatever calls you.

You have the freedom to be and do anything.

What lies.

I could be an astronaut?
If I attend Ivy League colleges
Major in engineering, biological science, physics, or mathematics,
and be perfect…at everything

I could be a novelist, writer, or poet?
If I have the time to write a book.
Or have money to sustain myself.
And maybe get attention and maybe make it big.

How about Artist or Musician?
And be broke the rest of my life?
Living off of practically nothing?
I think not.

What can I do?
How can I have my cake and eat it too?

There is business..they say.
But I don’t want to do business.
I don’t want to devote myself to a corporation.
I don’t want to have “worked there for 25 years”
There is so much more to life, this world, than business.

I suppose I can just run away.
Open a tea shop in New Zealand.
Climb mountains and smoke pipes in my homestead.
Read and write books, enjoy my family.

If only I could just do what I want.

But when am I ever dealt a royal flush…

Leave a comment